Andrew Kerr

Andrew Kerr

Website URL: http://aka-architects.com.au

Heating

, by

Tuesday June 6; Tuesday June 13 The Best Laid Plans The original idea for heating 60k House was to install a small wood heater. Actually, the initial plan was to see how effective the passive thermal design was before deciding if I even needed any additional heating. I wasn’t around for winter last year –…

Read more

Airbnb

, by

Sharing Economy The rise in popularity in hosting sites such as Airbnb even influenced some design decisions for 60k House. That’s one reason the place is now 93k House. I only ever wanted to design and build something modest and humble, somewhere I could escape to on weekends or leave all my stuff while I…

Read more

Decks

, by

Saturday April 30 2016; Monday May 2 2016; Saturday May 7 / Sunday May 8 2016; Thursday January 26 2017 More floor The act of building the decks didn’t take that long – finishing them, and then writing about it, has taken ages. There are two decks at 60k House: the bathroom deck (nicknamed ‘the…

Read more

Dung Ngo, editor   This book shows the early work of Seattle based architect Tom Kundig. His projects are inventive, industrial, mechanical and dynamic. Attention to detail and materials are reminiscent of Alvar Aalto  and Carlo Scarpa.   The book includes photos, computer drawings and hand sketches and also contains brief essays by Steven Holl…

Read more

Saturday November 12; Tuesday January 3; Wednesday February 8 Under the Milky Way I moved into 60k House last Easter, right after walking the Overland Track. We spent six nights in the Tassie wilderness, trying to get a wash each day. The thought of showering outside at home, even in cold weather, didn’t faze me.…

Read more

Tuesday January 26; Friday April 15; Wednesday April 20; Monday April 25; Sunday May 15 Early days The bathroom has been a long time in the making – we had a working toilet by November 2015 but only recently has the rest of the room been nearly completed (still a few little things to finish…

Read more

Doors

, by

Tuesday December 22, 2015; Monday May 2, 2016; Friday May 13, 2016; Monday January 2, 2017 Keeping it simple 60k House has a total of six doors: three internal and three external. That’s not a lot of doors, so it pays to get them right. We didn’t get them right the first time. Being resourceful…

Read more

Merry Xmas

, by

Monday December 26 Realisation A few days before Christmas a friend of mine said to me: you must enjoy going home, it’s such a great place. Up until then I had always looked around and all I could see was an endless list of jobs that needed to be finished. The house had slowly been…

Read more

Edited by Barbara Linz This is another great little international book published in three languages in the same book. Projects feature from all around the world.   As the title suggests this book focuses on one material – wood. The variety of projects demonstrate how a common material can be adopted and used in many…

Read more

Windows

, by

Wednesday September 30 2015, Tuesday November 10 2015, Friday May 13 2016, Monday November 21 2016 An eternity Windows – eek. They have been the bane of this project. What started out as a design generator – four double glazed units, roughly the same width as an apple crate, picked up for free – has…

Read more